These are the things that I know…

These are the things I know…

I haven’t spoken to you in a while, and I’m sorry for that. I started this blog and I want to keep it alive, even if I haven’t had many things submitted. It’s an understatement to say I was busy.

Today, I’d like to do something different. I’d like to talk about what these past couples of months have taught me, and how swimming has improved my life.

At the start of October I decided to take matters into my own hands. I was injured last year, and am still dealing with the repercussions of a hurt back. I chose to start swimming again as a way to build up strength and regain that lost mobility.

These are the things I have learned from swimming.

1.Do not underestimate what you can and can’t do.

Up until October, I have never been to successful at swimming laps or staying in a pool exercising for more than 15min. Now I can swim laps for a good hour straight and be fine. Even better is my newfound ability to swim the breast stroke and actually be proficient at it. It’s made me realize how much more I can do. It makes me wonder what else I’m capable of.

2. Try to see things with a new perspective.

The day I bought my swim goggles I nearly drowned- six times. At this point I’d been swimming for a good month and a half, so it was not due to a failure in flotation. No, it was because I extremely distracted by the bottom of the pool. With the goggles on I got to look at everything underwater; all the lines, tiles, and movement. Every time one swimmer moves there are little ripples and air bubbles that surge like an excited swarm outward to explore. The next couple of days I went around to favorite places (the library, for one) and tried to uncover what else I hadn’t seen before.

3. Everyone has something to say.

One advantage of swimming at the same time every other day is that I could start to recognize the lifeguard and the regular swimmers. I later learned the lifeguard’s name was Adam, and he likes to play basketball. He is very good at math, and helped me figure out how many laps were in a mile. (32) The girl in the lane next to me turned out to be Amber, and now she and I hang out all the time. I see a lot of people every day but I don’t know everyone. It’s a shame, there are so many people around us and everyone has a story.

4. Things may not work out the first time you try something.

Assumption:  If my back hurts, the most effective swim stroke would be the back stroke.

Truth: Wrong, so very very wrong.

My first day of swimming was miserable. I pushed myself too far and did the wrong stroke. I had to go home and research ‘back injuries and swimming.’ I learned that the breast stroke was the most effective. The second day I went swimming I pushed myself hard again, and while I was doing the breast stroke, I was doing it wrong. I went back home to watch videos and read articles on the breast stroke. The third day I went swimming I was very clumsy with my stroke, but I did much better. I also paced myself so I wasn’t limping the next day.  The lifeguard even gave me tips to improve my movements.

The same thing applies to my job. My boss often gives me projects on subjects I have no knowledge of. I often make several rough drafts before I get right. Then I double check myself. All the effort is worth it for when things come together just right.

Every little bit of myself that I’ve put into swimming was worth it.  Perhaps the most important thing I came to understand: There’s always something new to learn. These are the things I know so far, but there’s a lot more for me to explore.

Have a good evening, everyone.

 {{When you comment, ask yourself- What’s something that’s made you grow in the past two months?}}

Care to share?

