Fantastical Friday

…and, ta-da….

I’m on twitter: @Hammer_and_Nail.  No, no, don’t stop the presses. In fact, keep them going. I’d like to start spreading the word about this  blog a little bit more. I want to hear from the audience and get back to the original game plan: engaging with people and displaying what you have to share. Remember, I’m just the narrator. This is our community. In the side bar you’ll see there is a little twitter feed displaying recent tweets. I’ve also created a flyer to post around my little town. Feel free to print it off and do the same. (Karma, people. Karma.)

Happy Friday everyone! The most amazing thing happened to me this week: My sister bought me Pumpkin Pie pop tarts.  They are in fact the greatest thing ever. Other than that, I prepared my office for impending doom the New Year. There’s a lot more than meets the eye. I even set goals for my little cubicle.  Like, keep organized. I can’t remember the other reasons because I lost the list under the pile of papers from yesterday. No matter! Lumbergh will still get his TPS reports.

For today, here are some prompts. Happy writing!

o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o| Enjoy| o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o

There’s a reason we keep the cat in the bag.

I am the keeper of tongues: Je parle français. Yo hablo español. Я говорю России. Jeg taler dansk. אני מדבר עברית. They are all sealed inside my locket.

Pour, tear, clear

The solider empted his canteen
Only to see there wasn’t any to sip.
White knuckles on the bayonet
He waited for the sunrise to slip.

A conversation in tweets:
@Mask_Attack::  @VilliansAnon, I’m at the bank like we agreed. Where’d everybody go??
Mask_Attack has checked into First National Bank on the Corner of A and 13th

Transducer | Definition: To convert matter into energy

In the year 2036 we play checkers in a very different fashion. There’s the board the size of the football field. The players sit on their flying disks, hovering above the ground waiting for the Royalty (used to be a quarterback) to call the shots. It’s quite a spectacle. Of course, after the debacle in 2028 they have to wear armor now. That way it does not get to bloody when someone is violently King’ed.  And the cheerleaders are amazing.

Gloves with laser pointers on the fingers. ..and other technological advancements to mundane items.

She opened her watch again, scowled and snapped it shut. She looked back up at the stars, waiting for them to align.

Be on your guard when you see a smiling dragon:

Helllloooooooo

o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o-o

Now off you go! Send me poetry! Send me scribbles! Send me 100 word drabbles if you dare! And comment with prompts you want to see.

And don’t forget there’s a CONTEST  going on.

4 thoughts on “Fantastical Friday

  1. Of Cats And Bags: An Exposition

    There’s a reason we keep the cat in the bag, you know. In
    point of fact, there are actually two reasons but let’s
    not quibble, okay? Now I could use up a whole lot of five
    dollar words explaining just why this is, but I won’t do
    that.

    It’s not that I don’t appreciate a well-used five dollar
    word. I do. It really is a matter of simplicity, you see.
    Some things in life are best expressed in their most basic, unadorned fashion. That proves to be the case
    here.

    The plain and simple facts of the matter are thus: The
    first reason that we keep the cat in the bag is because,
    on a very basic, primal level…nobody really WANTS to see
    the cat. As long as the cat remains in the bag, we don’t
    have to deal with the cat. We all know the cat is in
    there, so there just doesn’t seem to be any sense in
    belaboring the point.

    A fine practical example of this would be that nobody,
    and I DO mean nobody, truly wants to know the REAL
    reason my Uncle Frank became a Boy Scout leader. In
    true “cat in the bag” fashion, draw your own conclusions
    here but please do not ask me to elaborate. I am
    confident that whatever reason you arrive at can’t be
    any more shocking or odious than the reality of things.
    But, just to be on the safe side, let’s agree to keep the
    cat in the bag on that one, eh?

    The second reason we keep the cat bagged may seem
    redundant but, trust me, IS subtly different. We keep
    the cat in the bag because, frankly, that is just where
    some cats were meant to be. These are the cats that
    we KNOW exist and so are willing to accept on faith alone
    without ever being subjected to the significant pain and
    stigma of actually having to see the cat. We put the bag
    in a deep, dark corner with the sure and certain
    knowledge that, yes, the bag DOES contain a cat. We are
    content to leave it at that and, fervently, hope that
    others will honor our wishes vis-a-vis said cat.

    I think we can all agree that, for instance, it may well be
    common knowledge that, on garbage day, your beloved
    blue-haired Grammy sneaks outdoors at two o’clock in
    the morning. It may well be no secret that she does so
    in order to discreetly place her empty sherry bottles
    into several different neighboring trash receptacles.

    And yet, no one in the family finds it necessary to wait
    up in order to follow Grandma on her appointed rounds.
    That would just be too traumatic to, willingly, seek out
    an opportunity to observe and so, get out a bag and
    stuff that old kitty right on in!

    I promise you that there really IS a point to all of this
    seemingly over-weighty consideration of cats and bags
    and such. The point being, that I have spent the better
    portion of my life as a cat of either one sort or of the
    other. I have grown accustomed to the concept of living
    out my days in a bag. I understand and readily
    acknowledge the inherent rightness of my closest
    friends and dearest family members, metaphorically,
    placing me where I am. In simplest terms, I really DO
    belong in the bag.

    No one should have to explain or have it be known that
    their son, brother, nephew, grandson, college roomie,
    etcetera, etectera ad infinitum, ad nauseum can see,
    talk to and otherwise interact with the dearly (and not
    so dearly) departed. But that is me and that is how
    things are.

    The how’s, the why’s, the whenfore’s and such can, and
    will, have to wait for another, more opportune time.
    Suffice to say, for now, that I am a cat content with his
    place in a bag that has become an all-too-familiar place
    for me to be. Enough said, for now, I believe.

    • If your writing a blog, that takes creativity just to get started. 🙂 I hope some of these prompts do give you writing ideas. And also, there’s a contest going on if you’d like to get involved.

Care to share?

